Forum: Advice / Support

Support
I need a good kick.
By SwordInStone Comments: 193, member since Thu Aug 11, 2011
On Tue Sep 12, 2017 03:55 PM

Too many things happened this spring:

There was a problem with my thesis, so I had to practically rewrite it in a month. Somehow it succeeded, but the opponent thought it was so much improved that he accused me of...not writing it myself. I showed him the thesis in different stages of completion, my handwritten notes, emails to supervisors, and said that I will answer any question he asks about it, in front of whichever audience he wants. In the end it got a high mark, and I graduated. My parents didn't congratulate me.

I ran away from my parents when I started graduate school, so this graduation really means quite a lot to my friends. But after that there was the rush to prepare a phD application, but there was only one position this year, 24 applicants, and I was either runner up or second runner up. So then there was a scare about whether I'd be able to stay in the country at all, but luckily the government changed immigration laws, so I got to stay. After graduation I went to a conference, got an award and publication offers from two reputable journals, and my department asked me to stay as an unfunded doctoral student. So I accepted.

But at the same time I found out a few things very bad things about our department. Then my best friend made a move on me, and now we're a couple.

By summer I was very much burned out. My parents got really, really mad at me for not getting into phD, and called me lazy. They called me other things too, mainly things I grew up hearing (I have PTSD). We decided not to speak to each other again.