Forum: Ask a Teacher

Ask a Teacher
Looking for advice ASAP
By Maddie_Williams Comments: 22, member since Thu Mar 30, 2017
On Thu Oct 26, 2017 03:45 PM

Hey all, I’m brand new to teaching and have just opened my own company. Tonight in my seniors class (13-15yrs) I noticed a horrible vibe between my dancers I asked them in a casual way what’s up but they all just said they had had bad days in school etc. Halfway through me teaching the last bit of a routine 3 of my 6 dancers disappeared one after another. I just left it in the moment as I had 3 students ready to learn, after the lesson had finished I went to find out what was going on with the 3 that walked out. I found them sitting on the bathroom floor chatting, I asked them what was going on and they refused to tell me but eventually they said that they didn’t like that the other 3 already knew each other before joining my company and have a strong friendship, they feel like they like these 3 other students individually but not when they are together. The 3 that walked off all have some form of mental health issues ie anxiety, depression, panic disorder, ocd low self esteem etc. I just don’t know how to deal with this, we have our first very small performance in 2 weeks time (only one more 1hr rehearsal) and I’ve never seen them all dance at the same time in these pieces yet for many different reasons such as not being able to come to class, having an off day with mental health and so on. It’s really frustrating everyone as we can’t properly see how the routines/formations look without everyone being fully cooperative. One dancer hasn’t been in class for 2 weeks and now she won’t be in the last one before the show and she sat out for the most part tonight... she doesn’t know any of the choreography at all but the way I set the formations (trying to give everyone a chance at being center stage)it’s really gonna mess everything up if she's not in it.