Forum: Ask a Teacher

Deflated By Unmotivated Student
By ellabrit
On Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:44 AM
Edited by ellabrit (300332) on 2018-01-16 11:45:39

I am a competitive dance teacher (I am not the studio owner), the majority of my students are between the ages of 8-16 years old. I have been teaching dance for three years now. For the most part I get along just fine with the ebb and flow of will power and moods among my students. Recently I have grown extremely flustered with one of my students and I feel as though I need help navigating the situation.

Here is one example: last night we were in the competitive tap class - this student has been tapping for about 4-5 years. She is only ten years old but she has extreme difficulty in keeping time. She speeds up in her small group which throws the dance itself completely off balance as there are only 4 of them, and it trips up the dancers around her as well. I broke down the steps into the absolute basics, taught them each count as per single step - counted it out with them while they danced it, had the students count it out while they danced it without me. Everything was great, she had completely slowed down things were moving along fine.

But as we progressed onto other things she started to lose focus and even with corrections wouldn't listen and reverted back to old ways. I don't want to get upset with my students, it is so important to me that they stay passionate with their craft. I find myself getting so frustrated when I can tell that she understands the concept but won't adhere to my advice long enough to really make a positive impact. I have struggled with her previously as it seems as though she just doesn't care to listen or follow my advice. But I feel like my bag of tricks is empty.

Do I just let her dance at her own pace? Is there something I'm missing that I could be doing? I feel like it is so unfair to the rest of her group if she's just off in her own world.