Forum: General / Welcome

New dancer! Which type of dance should I try?
By AwkwardBeginner
On Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:43 PM

I am new to dance (and this website), so I wasn't sure where to ask.

I am barely an adult, and I'm starting dance pretty late (just as a hobby). I am a bit overweight, bad at balancing, and am not flexible. These are the dances I'm thinking of: ballet, modern, jazz and hip hop. I can't decide whether my biggest goal is to lose weight, become flexible, or to learn the fundmentals/technique.

If I don't sound ready to start dance, what activities/things should I do to prepare? I am very slef-conscious, so I want to gain at least a little bit of confidence before I start dancing.

Sorry this is long, but any advice is appreciated!

2 Replies to New dancer! Which type of dance should I try?

re: New dancer! Which type of dance should I try?
By Theresamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Jan 22, 2018 03:00 PM
You know what? Try it all. I mean, at this point, you're probably not going to becoming a professional on broadway or anything, so get out there. Learn it. Learn to love it. Have an absolutely fantastic time.

Dance typically isn't great as a weight loss activity (dance themed weight loss programs excluded) because there's a lot of stopping and starting, which prevents you from getting your heart rate up, and keeping it there. :/ So as a weight loss plan, it's not the best, unfortunately.
re: New dancer! Which type of dance should I try?
By kinsidhe
On Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:23 PM
Hi,

I will echo Theresa here a bit.

As a person who didn't start dancing until I was adult, I highly recommend doing it! Why? because it can be fun, it can change your relationship with your own body and I firmly believe it improves health both physically and mentally.