Forum: Ballet / Guys in Ballet

Page:
Page 4 of 61 2 3 4 5 6
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By Crazydancer11 Comments: 8, member since Fri Mar 11, 2005
On Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:34 AM
vbncvncvbnncvb cvncvbncvncvncbncvncvn cvncvncvncvncvncvncvn cvncvncvncvncvncv vncvncvbcbncvvbcbvc cvncvbcbncvbcvcvcvcvc
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By tryzubchuck Comments: 54, member since Tue Mar 29, 2005
On Fri Apr 22, 2005 11:19 AM
This guide is excellent, even for those guys who use ballet as an avenue in other forms of dance (eg Ukrainian dance).

Thank you
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By DanceNEDE Comments: 21, member since Thu Mar 24, 2005
On Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:14 AM
nice jump!
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By Destinie_321 Comments: 48, member since Wed Apr 20, 2005
On Mon May 02, 2005 09:47 AM
I like your comments, they are extremely helpful. As for dance belts, I hate wearing them. As for my 'thing' at first I would always adjust to point up, but as gravity would have it, would work its way down. Now I've resigned to just place it to the side. In fact I don't mind it so much (so long as it does 'wake up') when it's down my leg...then it's really uncomfortable.

However, no one has said anything. But I do get the occasional look. I'm use to it so, it doesn't bother me.
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By peninsula Comments: 17, member since Mon Aug 30, 2004
On Sun May 22, 2005 03:35 PM
i also know it
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By robtriestodancemember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 684, member since Wed May 18, 2005
On Fri May 27, 2005 06:13 AM
THANKYOU SOO MUCH

I AM JUST TRYING TO START BALLET AND BEING A GUY OF 22 IT IS HARD TO FIND HELP AND PEOPLE WHO WILL TAKE YOU SERIOULY THANKYOU SO MUCH AGAIN FOR THE INFORMATION
Great Information
By hollyaldrich1 Comments: 3, member since Thu Jun 02, 2005
On Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:42 AM
Your guide was very helpful. I currently have 2 guys in my ballet classes and they need all the help they can get.
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By ilballetdude Comments: 20, member since Mon May 30, 2005
On Sat Jun 11, 2005 11:17 PM
Thanks for the wealth of info. This is sure to be very helpful to all the beginners out there, but I've never worn 2 dance belts before.
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By marterboy Comments: 20, member since Fri Jun 24, 2005
On Sat Jul 02, 2005 01:15 PM
The info you posted is very good. Specially for those who are doing their first steps in ballet. Sometimes there is no people telling you where to buy, what to use and how to wear things we normally do in our ballet classes.
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By DaNcRbOi53 Comments: 27, member since Tue Jul 05, 2005
On Wed Jul 06, 2005 01:43 PM
Wow, I just started dancing, and you just helped me SO incredibly much! I printed this off and I'm going to use it so much!
nice article
By livinitup Comments: 5, member since Sat Jul 09, 2005
On Sat Jul 09, 2005 04:30 PM
Hey that's a nice guide!!

i'd just like to add that to keep my tights up i use the elastic belts made for baseball. You can buy them at Academy or any sports store. i adjust my baseball belt (white) to fit my waist comfortably and then wrap my tights over it. very affective in keeping my tights up and feels fine.

take care everyone--
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By jnia Comments: 32, member since Sun Jul 10, 2005
On Sun Jul 17, 2005 03:27 PM
Thank you so much! Your advices are really helpfull and can guide some young male students torwards a marvelous discipline.
By the way, are you a dancer or a teacher?
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By ebrumalkocmember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 302, member since Fri Feb 06, 2004
On Thu Jul 28, 2005 01:42 AM
thanks for your useful guide
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By Mustang80 Comments: 83, member since Sun Dec 12, 2004
On Thu Jul 28, 2005 09:16 AM
hey Dsrutis,

Thanx for the tips. They helped alot! I started like 7 months ago and altho it is now summer alot of what you had posted helped me a bunch. Im already starting my classes again now that summer break is over and im going to be put back in the advanced ballet classes and partnering class. thanx for the tips.
oops
By jt14twisted Comments: 21, member since Fri Apr 02, 2004
On Fri Aug 12, 2005 06:20 AM
i knoew all that stuff and still read your guide! good job its nice to have thing reinterated! espically about the class behavior..oops
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By teti Comments: 24, member since Sun Aug 14, 2005
On Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:52 AM
hey thanks for the information you really help me with all these tips

Thank you
Teti
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By theheartyearns Comments: 50, member since Mon Aug 22, 2005
On Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:18 PM
Wow.

That was the best thing I've read all night. It was so informative and I learned new things while reinforcing the ones I already knew.

I have a few things I would like you - or anybody else - to ellaborate on. The article kept repeating to ask your teacher what they would like you to wear. What if you don't have a consistent teacher and are planning to take classes in a local studio? Should you always take class with tights or is it acceptable to wear maybe sweatpants every now and then?

Another thing I'm very interested in asking is: How do you adress and instructor in a dance class? By their last name or their first? Do they usually tell you what to call them?
RE: A Basic Guide to Males
By socadanseur Comments: 80, member since Tue Aug 23, 2005
On Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:22 AM
You've compiled an excellent and informative guide for the sincere danseur. Thank you!
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By mike1 Comments: 63, member since Mon Sep 05, 2005
On Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:44 AM
thank you...excellent post
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By Rolly Comments: 23, member since Mon Sep 12, 2005
On Thu Sep 15, 2005 07:50 AM
wow you have one of the best toetuches i have ever seen i love it i hope one day i could look like that in a pic well keep up the hard work and post more pics k bye
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By murado Comments: 3, member since Sat Sep 17, 2005
On Sat Sep 17, 2005 02:00 PM
Thank you, good info!
Re: very interesting
By shamrock242004 Comments: 20, member since Tue Sep 27, 2005
On Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:01 PM
I read the site on guys in ballet a little bit but is it not true that guys get picked on and treated very horribly cause they are in ballet i mean do not get me wrong i think it is for good flexibily and it would help out my breakdancing alot that is for sure. It would also get me into shape cause right now i could use some more flexibility i mean i am in dance school right now and they teach ballet should i enter a ballet class at my school. darcy wayne bauer
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By adagio Comments: 22, member since Sun Jan 04, 2004
On Sat Oct 08, 2005 02:32 PM
Ok..Wow i wish i had that sort of information when i first came in contact with ballet a few years ago. would be good to learn more of your experiences and dancing career.
thanks1
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By adagio Comments: 22, member since Sun Jan 04, 2004
On Sat Oct 08, 2005 02:36 PM
hi just wondring where i can buy the m stevons dance tights...is there a way to order them by the internet?
thanks
re: A Basic Guide to Males in Ballet
By dancerwannabee Comments: 22, member since Sat Jul 30, 2005
On Sun Oct 16, 2005 07:03 AM
Thanks for the post. It was very informative. I havebeen in class for 3 monthes now and it is so true.
Page:
Page 4 of 61 2 3 4 5 6

ReplySendWatch