Forum: General / Tap / Tap - Advanced

Page:
Page 1 of 2: 1 2
Discrepency on Wings
By tiptaptam
On Tue Jul 27, 2004 03:31 PM
Edited by tiptaptam (87291) on 2004-07-27 15:32:47

Hi
I have been tapping for 9 years, but only took classes intensively for about 3 (at the start). Other than that it has been workshops....random classes in NY.... and tapping all the time on my own. I teach tap now.... and I have a question about wings. I was taught to do them at the Barre... that they are three sounds... SCRAPE the side of your tap out and come in similar to skipping a stone.... HIT STEP. I have always been succesfull with this...can do one footed and switching wings, with clear sounds....

Recently I was told that it is incorrect and that there should be absolutely NO touching of the foot on the way out.
I am thinking that this may be a version of a wing... but this person is positive that it is absolutely wrong to make three sounds. What is the case.... and if it is just a style thing...what style doesn't scrape out.

28 Replies to Discrepency on Wings

re: Discrepency on Wings
By txtapster
On Tue Jul 27, 2004 04:20 PM
I learned w/ a scrape as well. I am sure there are many different ways to do a wing but what you are doing is not wrong. Just a different method. I have been dancing for 20 yrs and teaching for 8 and that is the way I have always done them and have been successful. Keep doing what you believe. There is never one way to do something.

Keep tappin'
By JazzyTapper64member has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Tue Jul 27, 2004 07:35 PM
Though I've only been tapping for a few years (though I am at the highest level at my studio, so I'm not a complete beginner or anything), I have been taught wings from 3 different teachers, and all three have taught it with a scrape, so while with a scrape may be a variation, I doubt that doing it that way is downwright wrong, as all the posters in this thread (including myself)have been taught that way.