Forum: Highland / Highland - Hornpipe

Farewell step
By plasticstarfish
On Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:18 AM

I really love watching the farewell step, but I've never actually learned it......could anyone know it write it out? But not too technically or anything, try to keep it simple :)

Also, if there are any other steps people want explained, they can ask them here and hopefully someone will explain.

5 Replies to Farewell step

re: Farewell step (karma: 1)
By highlandlassie
On Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:31 AM
Disclaimer: Ok, as a teacher I'm not really sure I want to do this. If a student attempts to learn a step by watching someone else, it's not a good situation. I want to emphasize here that it is much more difficult to fix a bad habit than to learn a new step. The best way to go about learning this step is from your teacher.

With that aside, I will write the step out. But please, don't practice it until your teacher teaches it! :) (I greatly apologize if this sounds like a lecture. I just want you to dance it your best! :) )

Step (LF to left side) - shuffle (RF) - ball-change (RF to LF in 3rd/3rd rear or 5th/5th rear) - backstep (landing on RF)

(I like to say "step - shuffle - ball change - up")

Repeat 3 more times (travelling to the left)
Repeat two more times turning to the left
Break.

Repeat all with the other side.

The arm on the side of the opposite foot circles around, so it goes straight out and then back in so your hand is close to your forehead. Your hand is in a fist, as though it was holding a flag.

Trivia: This step used to be done with an actual flag!!! Dancers had a pocket on the front of their outfit with a flag that they would take out for this step. Crazy, eh? :)
re: Farewell step
By Star77member has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Fri Sep 10, 2004 12:51 PM
Hey! I actually knew that about the flag. I used to do that step - you don't see it too much but it was fun!