Forum: General / Jazz / Jazz - Professionals

Page:
Page 1 of 21 2
Jazz - Professionals
Welcome to the Professional Jazz Forum please introduce yourself (karma: 1)
By kabdancer Comments: 420, member since Sat Aug 21, 2004
On Sat Dec 11, 2004 03:35 PM
Made sticky by balletgurl (11968) on 2005-08-26 10:19:15 member request

HI there!! Let me be the first to welcome you here. I asked for this forum, partly I guess, out of my own selfish desire to speak with other professionals and like minded people of the Jazz genre. Whether you do Swing, Cool, Classic, Body Percussion, Theatre Jazz, Funk, etc...please share your ideas and thoughts here.

If you are a professional dancer (source of income), choreographer (not just in your living room for your friends) or an experienced teacher of jazz or even a jazz musician sharing a love for the music and style then WELCOME!!

I am an independant teacher/dancer/choreographer living and working in Canada. I have been teaching jazz and tap for about 16 years and it is my absolute passion. My classes are inspired by the work of Fosse, Mattox, Simonson and Jump Rhythm Jazz Technique. My choreography is commissioned by several local dance companies and presenters, and has also been featured in theatre, film shorts, music videos and commercials. Every summer I travel to find the best masters and legends for my personal upgrading, these intensives have lead me to such teachers as Matt Mattox, Brenda Bufalino, Billy Siegenfeld, Josh Hilberman, Lynn Simonson and Cleo Parker Robinson. I also do modern choreography and like to explore the African influences of
dancers like Katherine Dunham and Pearl Primus.

Looking forward to 'meeting you'. Hope we can make this board work.

cheers

Kabdancer

33 Replies to Welcome to the Professional Jazz Forum please introduce yourself

re: Welcome to the Professional Jazz Forum please introduce yourself
By BeautifulLetDown Comments: 1686, member since Wed Oct 27, 2004
On Sat Dec 11, 2004 05:59 PM