Priority Slow Dance

Forum: Arts / Acting

Acting
ActorTips- Making Your Own Resume and Headshots and Getting Them Noticed! (karma: 14)  en>fr fr>en
By hippyjazzdancer Comments: 80, member since Sun Feb 27, 2005
On Sat Apr 16, 2005 10:50 AM
Edited by hippyjazzdancer (123649) on 2005-04-16 10:38:23 Markup Codes :)
Edited by hippyjazzdancer (123649) on 2005-04-16 10:39:45 Hopefully it looks nice this time! :P
Made sticky by MIClogger (28613) on 2005-04-16 23:58:49

ALL ABOUT RESUMES!
I decided to write this because, although I love dancing, acting is my area of expertise. I have been acting for a few years now and am going to be pursuing acting as a career.
I love to share any information I get to help others pursue the same dreams I have. I know how difficult it can be to get auditions so I decided to write about some great tips I have gathered about making your resume as well as your headshot and cover letter! I hope I can share all of this information with any other inspiring actors and actresses like myself! Good luck!! -Dana (hippyjazzdancer)

First of all:

RESUME MUSTS:

1. Typed large enough to be easily read at a glance, without a magnifying glass.

2. Printed dark enough so that the reader doesn't need a flashlight.

3. Obvious rows and columns and subdivisions all lined up like West Point Grads on review.

4. Stapled neatly to the picture. Have the staples parallel to the top and bottom edges. If your headshot has a border with lines try to staple on the lines. Watch out that you do not staple through the contact information. (Yes, it may sound obsessive but this is a profession of "images," which includes the image of your neat, super sparkling resume. The appearance of your resume sends a subliminal message about your pride in presenting yourself as a professional. And that includes how you staple a resume to a picture.)