Forum: General / Success Stories

I'm a Pas de Deux Student Creating Pas de Deux Choreography on Dance dot net
By BalletdogPremium member
On Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:31 AM

Linh, what a great idea! Here’s my DDN success story. I’m a guy who really loves pas de deux, and I have over six years experience in a classroom setting. But I’ve never had a forum for expanding my knowledge of pas through writing about it, or creating pas de deux choreography. I now have these forums through Dance dot net.

Last summer I created a set of pas de deux scenes for Dance Net Ballet Theatre.

Since June I’ve had a really great virtual pas de deux partner on DDN. I write a pas de deux lesson every week and PM it to her. Each lesson is written as though it’s given by my real life pas teacher, actually talking us through the lesson using our names. My virtual partner “takes” the lesson in her head, going through all the pas steps, and then PMs me back on what went “well”, what was “hard”, what was the best part of the lesson, and so on. It’s Great Fun! I’m going to start creating pas de deux scenes – not just lessons – for us. I’m going to try my hand at creating pas de deux storylines involving love, intrigue, tragedy. Dance dot net gives me the forum for doing this.

I also spend time on the Pas De Deux forum under the Ballet board, answering “how do I do?” pas questions. I can’t tell you how much this has sharpened my knowledge, having to work out and verbally describe in detail what the guy does and what the girl does for many different pas steps.

Thanks Linh,

Balletdog/Rick

3 Replies to I'm a Pas de Deux Student Creating Pas de Deux Choreography on Dance dot net

re: I'm a Pas de Deux Student Creating Pas de Deux Choreography on Dance dot net
By moustachegai
On Mon Dec 19, 2005 06:58 AM
your story was an inspiration and fantastic to read. hope you get all the best because you sure deserve it!!
re: I'm a Pas de Deux Student Creating Pas de Deux Choreography on Dance dot net