Forum: Teams / Dance Teams

I started a dance team..any suggestions
By tapperz
On Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:04 AM

My high school hasn't had a dance team for about 7 years, so I started one up. We are only considered a club right now and we are self funded. The team is made up of 10 girls all but two have had studio competition experience. Right now I'm coaching the team...I'm only a high school sophomore. I've been searching everywhere for a coach, but i cant find one. We are doing fine with out an adult coach..I'm pretty blunt when somthing looks bad, but its so stressful...between homework, practice at the studio, dance team practice, warm-up plans, and choreography, I'm so stressed out. Does anyone have any ideas for where i could ask for a coach. Also fundraising ideas, and we would like to attend a workshop this summer the whole team any suggestions about that. lol annnnnnd what to do for try-outs this summer, what we do next year...costumes...music.....THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO!! any help is greatly appreciated!! thanks a tooooooooonnnnnnnnnn

3 Replies to I started a dance team..any suggestions

re: I started a dance team..any suggestions
By DancerGirl_08
On Wed Mar 22, 2006 04:54 PM
Wow...first of all kudos to you for starting up a dance team, they can be really great for increasing girls's confidence and self-esteem!

Now...since you're being a "stand in coach" why not try finding an "assistant stand in coach", kind of like a co-captain. That way you wouldn't have to do everything your self - there would be someone else to share the stress with. But I would defidently suggest trying to get a coach soon (I'm a sophmore too, and I can absolutely not imagine running the dance team I'm on, so kudos to you for that also)