Forum: Advice / Pilates/Yoga

The Hundred
By i_own_you
On Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:35 PM

Can anyone try to explain to me "the hundred" in pilates?

20 Replies to The Hundred

re: The Hundred
By DancerGirl_08
On Sun Mar 26, 2006 01:00 PM
Start off by laying on your back, arms by your sides. Bring your knees into your chest, then extend your legs straight up into the air (so your body makes an L shape or a 90 degree angle) now, lower them down about a foot (your body should now be making like a 100/110 degree angle) (I hope that's right, I'm not very good with degrees). Now, lift your shoulders off the floor, keep your chin tucked in, and begin pumping your arms (aka just lift them up and down using very small movements). You should breathe in for a count of 5, then breathe out for a count of 5. I suppose 1 rep would be considered the 5 countss in and the 5 countss out, so do like 10 reps. Oh, and remember to keep your lower back on the floor at all times (think of pulling your belly button down to the floor)

Hope this wasn't to confusing, if you have any more questions, feel free to pm me!

~*EmilyRose*~
By purpletutu
On Thu Mar 30, 2006 07:29 PM
I like your explanation and think it is easy to understand.
Every second day I make my Pilates and Yoga exercise, the hundred is a part of it.

What I would like to add to it:
Keep your fingers together and the arms reaching forward (only the arms not the shoulders)like you reach for someone or someone pulls on your arms. Just strong arms and fingers close.

I always feel sooo good after my exercise.

Purpletutu
By dancin_til_death
On Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:10 PM
If you are just starting out pilates you can do the hundred with the legs bent or even straight up at 90 degrees until your strength builds up. If you don't have enough strength to hold your legs at 110 degrees then the hundred won't do any good and cause stress in your lower back.
By lauren503
On Sat May 27, 2006 01:16 PM