Forum: Teams / Dance Teams

what do you think about color/winter guard?
By Munki03
On Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:51 PM

Is there animosity at your schools between dance team and color/winter guard?

6 Replies to what do you think about color/winter guard?

re: what do you think about color/winter guard?
By panicmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Fri Oct 20, 2006 05:31 PM
For the past 15 years, I've taught studio dance classes, dance team, drill team, color guard, and (how did this happen?) majorettes. There is ALWAYS some animosity between the groups. But I'm not sure that's necessarily a bad thing. As a teacher, I try to use it to motivate the kids. Then again, I'd probably rather not have to deal with it... But yes, 9 times out of 10, separate girls into any 2 groups, and they'll go at it. Now that I think about it, I shouldn't even qualify it by saying "girls". I'v also worked with plenty of guys, and they're just as bad.
re: what do you think about color/winter guard? (karma: 1)
By guardgirl
On Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:30 PM
At my High School, the Dance team hated the colore guard, who didnt really care, and the cheerleaders hated the dance team, who only cared half the time. I was on guard my freshman year, and did dance team my sophmore year instead of fall guard, then did winter guard while doing dance team. I never understood the drama involved with them not liking each other. None of us did the same thing. I looked at it like this guard dance team and cheerleading are three different generes all having ties to each other in the past. Thats like a ballet dancer not likeing a modern dancer or something like that.
By SLBdancermember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Sat Nov 25, 2006 07:20 PM