Forum: General / Hip Hop / Breaking

i am new to breaking, i need help
By Oo_JZB_oO
On Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:27 PM

i am new to breaking but i have danced hip hop for many years. i was wondering what moves are the best to start me off?

8 Replies to i am new to breaking, i need help

re: i am new to breaking, i need help
By ashley123
On Tue Oct 31, 2006 08:25 AM
breaking is almost totaly different than hip hop. breaking is alot more than just dance...to understand breaking and to really beable to give it your best you have to get into the mind set of it its not just fun its not just dance its a lifestyle its a feelings you have to put everything you have into it. when you do that then you can really start to get good. its not hard to start out just practice 6-steps and sweeps and pratice freezes but before that you have to do alot of push ups and sit ups and streches you have to be ready to give your whole body into it. like i said its not just fun its not a game its real.
By Oo_JZB_oO
On Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:45 PM
thank you so much for the comment.. i understand that "it is not just fun its not just dance its a lifestyle its a feelings you have to put everything you have into it." dancing is mylife and i do it for 9 hours a day on the week so i am comitted to doing my practise in luch times at college and at weekends. i do get made to do a few press ups and sit ups at least 100 but i suppose i could all ways do more a day. i tryed a few freezes and i find them ok to handle. i guess i just gotta work on my style a lot more.
By SpellieDev
On Fri Nov 03, 2006 01:31 PM
it can't hurt to google the history of bboying and follow how the moves and the culture evolved. eventually you'll come across a set of moves that you're interested in doing, and you just kinda try it out as you go along.