Forum: Advice / Pilates/Yoga

Becoming Pilates Certified
By laurathesk8rmember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:49 PM

How does one go about becoming certified to teach pilates?

6 Replies to Becoming Pilates Certified

re: Becoming Pilates Certified
By Yaeli
On Sat Nov 18, 2006 05:49 AM
Hey there!
There are courses that give u all that needed to be a certified pilates teacher. I guess the requirements change from place to place, so I can tell about the course I took (I'm a certified pilates instructor).
First of all you need to take some classes and the teacher should sign that your technique is good enough in order to start the course. Then we had some classes, in the first ones you learn the basics of the pilates method and the main principles. Then you have classes to learn all the repertoire (the method got a repertoire of exercises), in each one you learn what are the muscles that work in it and in what way, what is the correct way to perform it, what are the usual flaws during the exercise and how to fix them, and of course how to modify it in order to teach it to different levels of trainees. After you have the whole repertoire you learn about the basics of building a class array, and a bit about pilates while pregnant, and with different injuries, and then you have a test (theory & practice - instruct a class), and you need to hand in a few written class arrays according to the specifics your teacher gives you (ie. beginners, people with back pain, pregnant women etc...). If you pass all that you need to do some assistance classes (work as an assistant in a teacher's class), some classes when you sit and comment in writing about the class, and give out some classes in the studio one on one (not to the regular trainees of the studio)- you can do it to someone you know, like a friend or something.