Forum: Gym / Rhythmic Gymnastics

Stylistic Characteristics of the various Schools of Rhythmic Gymnastics
By Nephrite
On Sat Dec 09, 2006 06:45 AM

I have watched many videos of the various eastern European gymnasts such as Bulgaria,Belarus,Ukraine,Russia...what do you guys think is the difference between these schools of rhythmic gymnastics? For ballet you can tell between the Russian School(like Kirov Ballet/Vaganova Academy),the French School(Paris Opera Ballet),the English School(Royal Ballet/Royal Academy of Dance) etc...

Hmmn let's discuss?

7 Replies to Stylistic Characteristics of the various Schools of Rhythmic Gymnastics

re: Stylistic Characteristics of the various Schools of Rhythmic Gymnastics (karma: 2)
By ScarlettLeeloo
On Thu Dec 14, 2006 04:43 PM
Edited by ScarlettLeeloo (142336) on 2006-12-14 16:48:04 spelling, and adding a point
Edited by ScarlettLeeloo (142336) on 2006-12-14 16:49:31 spelling, i just type too fast sorry :(
Hmm, i'm not an expert on this matter, but i'll be glad to give you my observation of things. I haven't watched enough of the 80s and 90s RG to really talk about stylistic differences then (and in 80s we had USSR ;) )but i'll try to tell you what i think are the traits of the rhythmic schools. Generally, the mainstream style is usually influenced by the head coach/team of coaches/school of the coutry. Currently it is Irina Viner in Russia and Deriuginas of the Ukraine. I'm not entirely sure about BUL and BLR and next countries so i'll skip this for now.