Popular Owners

My baby is leaving for college- how will I run this studio without her? by Sinaj1
One of the reasons I "refound" this site was my need for camaraderie and empathy for the situation I...

Forum: Australia / Melbourne

Melbourne
ballet slippers and foot problems en>fr fr>en
By Jenerator Comments: 282, member since Fri Jun 04, 2004
On Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:28 AM

I've been doing ballet as an adult dancer now for around 3 years. In recent months, I've had problems managing to complete even the barre work because the sole of my foot aches when I'm standing in ballet slippers. (I've been told by my teacher - to my relief - that I won't ever be able to do pointe work, so I'm just talking about ballet flats here.)
I should also mention that when I wear regular closed shoes, I use an orthotic insole to help my feet stop pronating, as I also suffer from plantar fascitis (if that's how it's spelled). This foot pain feels similar, but along the whole sole of the foot, not just the balls of the feet.
I saw a podiatrist about the possibility of getting an insole for my ballet shoes, but the problem is going to be to fit one into the shoe. My dance teacher suggested if I could get shoes a size too big, I might be able to fit the insole in.
And here's the problem - the shoes I have are size 13 Sansha brand. When I first bought them, I was told that was the biggest size they came in. I went to the Energetiks store yesterday and they tried me in their size 8 which was very tight (but quite comfortable despite that) but they have to try to get in their size 9 for me to try (sometime in March, they say). The people at the dancewear store that my daughter has to buy from tell me that they only have larger sizes in black or white (ie for men) but I really want pink ballet slippers.