Forum: Sports / Sports Photos - Misc

Page:
Page 1 of 2: 1 2
Please tell me what's wrong with this photo :)
By PATower
On Fri Feb 07, 2003 05:56 PM

As a photographer, I'm always on a quest for the "perfect" photo: one where the subject/model/dancer does everything he/she is supposed to do, I do everything I'm supposed to do to capture the moment, and nothing technical goes wrong.

I've always said that if I ever achieve that, I guess I'll have to stop photographing and seek perfection in something else. So tell me why I should go on photographing. :)

Seriously, this photo (rhythmic gymnast Anna Bessonova from Ukraine photographed in a studio in LA) is about as close to perfection as I have come. Her toes are pointed, hands are elegant, she makes it look effortless despite the amazing display of flexibility, the lighting and background are clean, it's in focus and at the peak moment, and her face is showing. And yet I know there is always room for improvement.

Feel free to tell me what you like about it (though this isn't just me fishing for compliments), but I'd also like to know what you think would improve it.

Thanks,
-Patrick

25 Replies to Please tell me what's wrong with this photo :)

re: Please tell me what's wrong with this photo :)
By huilinglee
On Fri Feb 07, 2003 06:36 PM
Ooh...this is tough.
Well, it looks almost perfect. She's got a super amazing leap. And she looks like she's flying and that's what we want. I could just repeat what you say... :)
I guess I can't find anything wrong yet! This is a beautiful picture.

Basically, I like the way the picture is taken. It stands out.
And her leotard is simply superb.
By alleycatmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Fri Feb 07, 2003 07:03 PM