Forum: Folk / Polynesian Dance

First Polynesian recital help!
By kawaii671
On Thu Jun 07, 2007 05:09 PM

Hi, I've been dancing hula and tahitian since January and my very first recital's coming up. The thing is, I'm not sure what to do about makeup. My teacher says that some necessities are blush and fake eyelashes. I've never done this before and I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions or tips?

Oh yeah btw, what's the best thing to do to keep my hair volumized throughout the recital? I'm going to have my hair braided the day before. I appreciate any help I can get!!! =)

15 Replies to First Polynesian recital help!

re: First Polynesian recital help!
By Celebrianmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Thu Jun 07, 2007 06:41 PM
The blush and fake eyelashes, I'm not good with make-up. If no one else helps you out on this board, go over to disco. They can give you LOTS of good advice on make-up.

Now your hair, I can help you with that. You might also want to PM the mod Theresa, if she doesn't stop by and help you herself!

In order to help you with your hair, though, I need to know your hair type and race.
By kawaii671
On Thu Jun 07, 2007 07:11 PM
Thanks for replying! I'm actually full Filipino...and I have really long, thick, and straight black hair. When I tried braiding it a night before a practice, it didn't last long even with lots of hairspray. I'm planning to have it braided a day before...how do I keep the volume?
On Thu Jun 07, 2007 08:18 PM
Edited by Celebrian (127245) on 2007-06-07 20:28:13 OK...
what kind of braids did you do? I'm gonna get Theresa in on this one. Be right back.

Okay, I'm back. I've PM'd her and told her your situation. Hopefully she's not too overloaded and can get to you soon.

Do you want me to PM the groovytwins over in Disco to come on over and help you with your eyelash situation? They're on my friends list and I'm sure they'd love to help you!
By kawaii671
On Thu Jun 07, 2007 09:51 PM