Forum: Arts / Fiction

A beginner's story in need of critiquing! (SP?)
By bdancer3333
On Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:37 PM

This is a story that I wrote from a writing prompt. I am just a beginning writer so I would really like to know how to make my work better! Thanks!

Bring the Rain

The sun was beating down on the green grass, soaking up any condensation left from that morning’s rain shower and, it seemed, some of the grass’s green color. All around, the grass was turning browner and the level in the lake was moving down. Most of the lake-goers of the weekend had retired to their houses and the last few were now getting up to go, sweat dripping from their necks and foreheads as they packed their chairs. Even those that had retired early that morning were sweating because their air-conditioning seemed useless against the still heat of the summer.
The little lemonade stand that had been down at the end of the dock all weekend was finally closed up and the store seemed to be welting in the heat. All the flowers were pointed downward toward the brown grass and the brown grass no longer resembled green. The mother who had been packing up chairs down by the lake had collapsed and her kids were pushing her into the hot lake water in hopes of cooling her down. Another neighbor was running toward her with a big bag of ice and a pitcher of water. The woman finally stood back up and headed for her house without even thanking the neighbor.