Forum: General / Modern / Modern Dance - General

Contempory? Modern? Lyrical?
By iceskatergurl43member has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Mon Aug 13, 2007 03:58 PM
Edited by iceskatergurl43 (170465) on 2007-08-13 15:59:20

I've never done modern or anything like it before and I was thinking of taking it next year. My studio offers Modern, and Lyrical. Which one should I take? I was also wondering The difference between Modern, Contempory, and Lyrical. Thanks!!

9 Replies to Contempory? Modern? Lyrical?

re: Contempory? Modern? Lyrical?
By cebe23
On Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:31 PM
The boundaries between these styles are kind of blurry. Part of the problem is that what we call "modern" includes a lot that is not really modern anymore. Modern started around the beginning of the 1900s, and back then it was very "modern." Since then we've gone through so many stages, such as post-modern, and the genre has branched out into different techniques (Graham, Horton, Limon, Taylor, etc etc.) Each generation leads to more different techniques within the heading of modern, which is great for moving the art forward, but not so great for easily classifying what style of dance something is. You can kind of compare it to music, where there's a genre (like Rock) and then sub-genres (like Alternative, Punk, Metal, Classic Rock), and even within those there are different categories (Pop-Punk, Hardcore-Punk). And then you get artists who blend rock and rap, and it gets even more confusing.