Popular Owners

Solo Fees by stylizedbeauti09
Wondering what others charge/include in their solo/duo/trio pricing. I know it completely ranges...

Forum: Teaching Assistants

Teaching Assistants
Dance Games for 2.5-5 year olds. en>fr fr>en
By tapgirl_83 Comments: 21, member since Wed Jan 22, 2003
On Mon Nov 12, 2007 07:33 AM

I'm looking for some new games to play with the youngest students at my studio. I have been teaching little dancers for almost 10 years now, and I'm starting to get bored with the games I play with them in class. If anyone has any thing that they have tried that has worked REALLY well or didn't work at all let me know.
Thanks SO MUCH!!!

3 Replies to Dance Games for 2.5-5 year olds.

re: Dance Games for 2.5-5 year olds. en>fr fr>en
By Libbiebeth Comments: 607, member since Wed May 02, 2007
On Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:14 AM
I use these with my younger students:

The animal game (the students have to come up and act out quietly an animal and the other students guess what they are)

Dance simon says game

My favorite step game (the students do their favorite step and the others have to guess the name)

Draw a dance step out of the hat (card with dance steps on them and the students have to demonstrate the step and the others have to guess the correct term)

Who can do the biggest leap (have them start run and jumps with 2 objects close together on the floor that they are jumping over then after every jump move the objects farther away so they have make their jumps bigger and higher) I usually use carpets or leg warmers for this
By KeepOnSinginPremium member Comments: 12372, member since Sun Dec 19, 2004
On Tue Nov 13, 2007 09:33 PM
Here are some games we do in my classes that the kids like a lot:

- Freeze dance (the kids LOVE this one)
- The animal game (choose an animal and dance like it)
- Red Light Green Light (using dance steps like chasse, chaine or whatever)
- Follow the leader (again, use dance steps)

Hope that helps!