Forum: Ballet / Pas De Deux

Choreographing PDD
By sodancedance
On Sat Dec 22, 2007 07:23 AM

First Off, I'm new, And I have no Idea where this should go, And I'm sincerely sorry if This has already been posted, but I need some help on choreographing A PDD.
If you need some background info:
I'm choreographing a scene (Flying scene if it helps) from Titanic With ballet steps, as I'm trying to make a Titanic ballet. (LOL, I love ballet so much I can't help but do it)
Rose (from titanic) Is the song. I'm on 1 minute and 57 seconds, if it helps any more. Would anyone know some really beautiful PDD steps? (I know what they are, but to see what their called, I have no idea. I've only PDD'd once)

3 Replies to Choreographing PDD

re: Choreographing PDD
By BalletdogPremium member
On Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:40 PM
Edited by Balletdog (120852) on 2007-12-22 12:43:03
I'm not familiar with the scene or the music you're choreographing to, so I can't suggest anything directly. I'm an amateur ballet guy - see my bio - yet through much practice and experience with pas de deux, I've learned to choreograph for my work with my partners, and for a pas de deux class I teach. Through this School of Hard Knocks, I've learned some basic tenants of choreographing pas de deux, and I'm going to describe these tenants to you, so maybe you can create your own choreography:

I strongly feel and recommend, you must have a qualified pas instructor work with your partner and you for any and all practice you do. This is to prevent injury, and to get the technique correct from the beginning. Only when the lady and the guy are highly experienced in pas de deux, is it safe for them to work on their own...I've had extensive instruction from a highly qualified pas de deux teacher. I did not do pas work on my own, until after more than a year of regular pas classes and private pas instruction.

1. Good pas de deux choreography can be put together using just a few basic pas steps "strung together."