Forum: General / Tap / Tap - Advanced

Tap - Advanced
So, does this ever happen to you?
By majeremember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 5889, member since Sat Sep 29, 2007
On Tue Jun 17, 2008 09:22 PM

Okay this summer my studio is only offering one tap class, and it's an adult tap class - I decided to take it.

The class has different levels - there are two people who've never tapped before in their lives, two people who started tap last fall and me (I've been tapping for 12 years).

We do barre together then break off into our different levels.

They barre is Grade 3 of the Al Gilbert tapes/cds. It's so slow! I feel like I'm just standing there - it's killing me to go that slow.

This is probably a sign I shouldn't teach tap. Does it ever kill you to tap slow?

8 Replies to So, does this ever happen to you?

re: So, does this ever happen to you?
By glitterfairyPremium member Comments: 12135, member since Tue Oct 01, 2002
On Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:31 PM
As a student, it kills me. As a teacher, it's probably 60% of what you do ;)

Bear in mind that when you are teaching (properly) your mindset willbe completely different. You're frustrated now because you know that in a 'class', you should be learning something, or at least being challenged. As a teacher, you will be completely focussed on the progress of your students.
By LilDancerGalmember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 269, member since Sat Jan 24, 2004
On Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:49 PM
Oh yeah..
During our past summer intensives, we'd have tap class now and then, and even though I was in the advance group, it would go soooo slow. See, our studio isn't much of a tap studio, and it's the one class that isn't required. So most of the girls are only taking a tap class a few times a year and that's during the summer intensive.
It pretty much kills me, but our teacher would give me harder things to do now and then so that helped.