Popular Irish

Long VS Progressive VS Long Progressive?? by rince_girl
Can anyone clear up what the actual difference between a Long dance, a Progressive dance, and a Long...

Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Adult Dancers

Ballet - Adult Dancers
Argh! I cannot balance on one leg on demi-pointe. Help! en>fr fr>en
By pelerrojamember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 1125, member since Fri Mar 18, 2005
On Sun Jul 27, 2008 01:36 PM

Hi All,

I'm posting this in the adult forum because I think I'll be more likely to get answers that are useful to me. However, please feel free to move if necessary mods.

So- I'm an adult beginner, have been dancing 3 times per week since the middle of March now. My teacher spends a *lot* of time talking about placement and we spend a lot of time making sure our weight is placed properly on our legs etc. I'm usually fine until the moment I have to stand on demi-pointe on one leg and it all goes to pot from there...and since I can't even balance like this, it's making things such as pirouettes practically impossible.

Does anyone have any ideas why it might be a problem? I wonder if it might be my weight. I started at 'the wrong end of 200 pounds' but havce since dropped about 30 pounds, thanks to dance and weight watchers...still, I'm having to pull up an extra 50 lbs than everyone else in the class and maybe I'm lacking the strength?

I suppose it might also be my placement but I'm really quite stable with everything else and I'm careful to keep my hips square. I do have a tendency to drop my head though...

Anyway- any ideas or tips would be thoroughly welcome!

16 Replies to Argh! I cannot balance on one leg on demi-pointe. Help!

re: Argh! I cannot balance on one leg on demi-pointe. Help! en>fr fr>en
By PerfectFeet Comments: 342, member since Mon Feb 11, 2008
On Sun Jul 27, 2008 03:56 PM
Don't worry, I am pretty thin and still have trouble with this as well!