Forum: Arts / Religion

new college student, need some advice on devotionals/books/etc.
By last_slowdance22
On Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:09 AM

Hi everyone! this might be a long post, so I apologize in advance....

Background information: I grew up in the United Methodist Church. Lately have been disagreeing with things in my church, but still believing fully in God.

So I'm a brand new college student, living 2 1/2 hours away from home. Before I left for college, I was at home in bed one night talking to God, saying "I can't do this." And in my head I hear something: "For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord." Again, I said, I can't do this." And another verse pops up: "Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow." I know this is God telling me to chill out and let Him lead.

Question: I'm looking for devotionals or books about getting closer to God in college, and thought you guys could help me out! I'm currently re-reading "Eat Pray Love" by Elizabeth Gilbert which is a fantastic book, and am sort of reading Blue Like Jazz, though I'm not in love with that book. Any ideas?
Thanks so much!

7 Replies to new college student, need some advice on devotionals/books/etc.

re: new college student, need some advice on devotionals/books/etc.
By VelvetRagamuffinmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:59 PM
Try Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott. It's the ultimate faith "pick-me-up." Other options include Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell, The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, and The Relentless Tenderness of Jesus by Brennan Manning.

All four of these have greatly influenced how I perceive faith, Christianity, and really just life in general.
By LlamaLlamaDuckmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Sep 01, 2008 08:03 PM
I might have to check out some of these books...

I've been a bit confused lately I must say
By d4jmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member