Forum: Europe / Europe - General

Let's share about dance studios :)
By isudnce05
On Sun Sep 07, 2008 06:16 PM

I am a professional dancer and educator in Chicago, IL, and was wondering how similar your dance studio structure was to studios here in America. What are your most popular forms of dance? Ages of kids? Do you do performances? Competitions?

I am going to start this convo on other local boards - I hope that this will be a fun way to read and learn the different ways we are spreading dance throughout the world

Happy posting!

1 Replies to Let's share about dance studios :)

re: Let's share about dance studios :)
By RosePremium member
On Tue Oct 14, 2008 05:21 AM
Edited by bayadere93 (172256) on 2008-10-14 05:24:12
I'm a DDN member since 2006 if I remember well, and from the beginning I was amazed by the things I read about the American studios. Things are so different than here in Holland. Just to mention a couple.

*Amateurstudios are mostly called 'school' and sometimes 'studio'. Vocational schools are called 'academy'.

*Most amateurs take one class a week. If they do more classes a week, it is in different dancestyles. An amateur taking 2 balletclasses a week is hard to find (but they are there!).

*Most amateurstudios hardly work with an official syllabus. No matter what age or level, teachers 'just teach something'. A lot of teachers make one class, teach that to all levels for a couple of weeks, only adjusting a little to make it easier or harder when needed.

*There are only competitions for linedancing and streetdance (I'm skipping the ballroom here as I don't consider that as a balletstudio thing).

*Most popular here is streetdance (for kids usually called clipdance or showdance). Modern is promoted a lot by the academies, but amateurs are not that enthousiastic about it. Ballet and jazz are 'dying', it seems like only children and -older- ladies are still doing this. Tap is hard to find.