Forum: Adults / Baby On Board

Baby On Board
The Breastfeeding support and Information thread. (karma: 3)
By hylndlasmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 7170, member since Wed Sep 22, 2004
On Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:44 AM

NOTE: This is not an attack against non-breastfeeding mothers. If a simple Q and A about Breastfeeding offends you please close out the thread. This is not a debate nor is it a mommy war, if you want to debate breast vs. formula feeding please start your own thread. Off topic posts will be removed. Thank you.

I’ve gotten a few PM’s from people asking for Breastfeeding information and help. While I am not a medical professional, nor a lactation consultant, and a relatively new kid on the block, I am more than happy to share what I do know. I thought a thread on the baby boards might be a good way for all of us nursing mother’s (current or veteran) to share advice and support each other. Think of this thread as the La Leche League of DDN. :D

Disclaimer…… This is just my advice as a nursing mother and what has worked for us. Take it or leave it as you will. :)

Ok lets get started!

Before Baby tips
Q: I want to Breastfeed. Is there anything I need to do to get ready before my baby comes?

A: Read, pick up as much reading material as you can! Talk to other nursing mothers, contact the La Leche League and find a local group in your area and start to attend meetings, take a breastfeeding class at your local hospital or midwives office. The more you learn about breastfeeding while pregnant the greater your odds are of succeeding.

Q: Do I need to toughen my nipples?

A: Nope. The hormonal changes pregnancy brings to your breasts are sufficient preparation for most women. Don't rub or scrub your nipples — this will only hurt you and make breastfeeding difficult. Teaching your baby the right way to latch on to your breast from the beginning will prevent your nipples from getting sore.

Q: Do I need to buy anything?