Forum: Irish / Irish - Beginners

Page:
Page 1 of 2: 1 2
when did you start hard shoe dances??
By ceiliqueen23member has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Sat Apr 04, 2009 08:56 AM

How long after you started ID classes did you start to learn hard shoe dances.

46 Replies to when did you start hard shoe dances??

re: when did you start hard shoe dances??
By celticfeetmember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Sat Apr 04, 2009 09:07 AM
I started learning the treble jig (and hornpipe too I think) my first year of lessons; I think it was about 4-5 months in maybe? But I started when I was 16; most don't start hardshoe until their second year of lessons, or whenever our teacher feels they are ready and have a firm grasp of softshoe/technique.
By Crazy_Clairemember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sat Apr 04, 2009 09:22 AM
I started after I'd learnt all of my light dances and knew them properly. So quite some time after I'd first attended class.

Claire.
On Sat Apr 04, 2009 09:26 AM
well I'm 25 and about to start step classes but I have been doing ceili for three years I also heard 2 years but I was hoping it would be sooner then that
By Cinnawiz
On Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:12 AM
Well, it usually depends on the school. In our school, you don't start learning hard shoe until you know the jig, reel and slip jig. From what I've seen (and experienced), hardshoe starts in the 2nd year of lessons.

I got fitted for hard shoes during the last month of the year and the teacher taught me some basic drills to do over the break (one month). During the first lesson of my second year, we did those basic drills which turned into the beginning of our treble jig.

In our school, age doesn't matter. I started as an adult. We're grouped by level, not age.

Since you come from a ceili background, you might not start in the beginner class which could move your hard shoe starting up. Talk to your TC, they'll know exactly when you're ready. :]
By PWover50