Forum: General / Hip Hop / Hip Hop

First year if hip hop. What to expect?
By Dancer4ever43097
On Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:55 AM
Bumped by Theresa (28613) on 2009-10-04 10:48:31

This is my first year of hip hop and I am 12 I had options to do when i was 9 but didn't do it. I am top of my class.. I just don't know what to expect.

5 Replies to First year if hip hop. What to expect?

re: First year if hip hop. What to expect?
By T_Dance_Girl
On Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:21 PM
I started when I was 11. We did alot of freestyle stuff, so be prepared to have people watching you for a while. Also lots of across the floor and routines. Remember to bend (legs and back.) because I took ballet tap and jazz at the time and it was hard to get into not standing strait. Have fun. That's what dance is about and it was my favorite class this past year and the one before that so you might likie it too. Just enjoy yourself, this class is just meant for you to show what you can do, learn new skills, and have a great time.
By bubble_dancer34
On Sat Jul 18, 2009 09:52 PM
Prepare for lots of fun, and a more relaxed class than ballet or even jazz. You'll freestyle a lot and probably dance to more modern music. It's totally fun. Good luck!
By BgirlDoesBallet
On Tue Jul 21, 2009 06:38 PM
I started when I was 13 and it was my first style of dance. As for what to expect, it depends on your teacher.

My usual hip hop teacher starts off class with jumping jacks, push ups, crunches, isolations, and stretching. Sometimes we do mats (rolls, handstands, headstands, freezes, etc). Other times we just go straight into choreography. My teacher likes to expose us to all different styles of hip hop so we might have one routine that's typical "studio hip hop", one that's mostly locking, and another that's inspired by bboying- other teachers might just teach one style. A lot of times, at the end of class, we'll take turns free-styling in the middle.