Forum: General

Page:
Page 1 of 4: 1 2 3 4
Jazz Syllabus
By turtletoeshoe
On Thu Jul 30, 2009 02:29 PM

I am totally jumping on the "week before fall classes start and looking for help" bandwagon. And that is why I absolutely love this forum (even though I mostly stalk instead of post). I am teaching most of the jazz levels at my studio this year and am looking for help with organizing them.

I am looking for someone who either has a general jazz curriculum or is willing to make one with me. The things I am looking for include abilities that define each level (ie level 1 should be able to accomplish x,y,z), trick steps in a cohesive order of introduction (teach a first, then b, then c), and pretty much anything else you can think of.

I have been teahcing jazz for about 10 years now, and just last week (when I was pulling together ballet lesson plans) that I have NEVER been organized with a syllabus for jazz classes!

Thanks thanks thanks in advance

89 Replies to Jazz Syllabus

re: Jazz Syllabus
By andr3a
On Thu Jul 30, 2009 06:37 PM
How old are your students when they start jazz? How many hours a week are they dancing?
By turtletoeshoe
On Thu Jul 30, 2009 08:00 PM
They dont dance a lot, but are fairly advanced. they compete and have one competition prep class, 1 jazz class, 1-2 ballet classes and assorted tap, contemporary, musical theater, and tumbling. Which would give them anywhere between 6-10 hours/week. I only have them for jazz once a week for one hour each class.

My classes are aged: 9-12, 11-15, and 12-18 years old. They all have been dancing for numerous years and I would consider them recreational (they might beg to differ though). They are really lacking in stong basic technique which is what I have been working on with them for the end of last year (I just started teaching them in March), so that is what I am hoping to help them most with.
By DancerTonitePremium member
On Thu Jul 30, 2009 08:02 PM