Forum: Skating / Figure Skating

dancer to skater?
By pointe92member has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Mon Mar 01, 2010 07:35 PM

i have always wanted to skate, but instead i have been dancing for 11 years. The us figure skating championships were in a town near mine and i ended up on a bus with a judge who remarked that i looked like a skater, i told her i was a dancer but didn't skate and she said that dancers always turn out to be the best so i should really give it a try...? i skate on the lake near my house and it feels pretty natural should i give it a try?

4 Replies to dancer to skater?

re: dancer to skater?
By ballet_rox_sox
On Mon Mar 01, 2010 07:53 PM
Give it a go!

Take a few classes, and see what you think!
By Moonlitefairy06member has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Tue Mar 02, 2010 07:58 PM
I wouldn't start having the Olympics in mind or anything like that, but it couldn't hurt to take some skating lessons and see if you like it. I'm sure dancing helps with gracefullness, balance, flexibility and stuff like that. How old are you?
By NSBPointeDancermember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Tue Apr 06, 2010 04:59 PM
I took ballet for 12 years before I started figure skating. I'll tell you one thing, they aren't as similar as they seem. The balance is at a much different spot for both spins and jumps. That being said, though, once you train your body and get used to that new balance point, newer and more advanced spins and jumps come a lot more quickly. Spirals and spread eagles (kinda like a 2nd position on the ice) also come much more easily!