Forum: Ballet / Pas De Deux

MY first time
By dancer_boi08
On Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:05 AM

I just started pdd about 3 weeks ago and I have pdd class everyday saturday. I have always wated to try it and now that I am doing its not what I thought it was. I still enjoy it but its like starting all over from dancing again. I do pdd with the advanced students at my studio and I feel that they do not want to be my partner because I am new to pdd.That just bothers me alot but oh well it will change one day.

Some of the things I find hard about ppd is keeping the girl on her leg while she is turning, ist hard enough when she is not turning but im getting there with that. Why is turning so much harder? Why is there a specific way that I have to life her, if we are both comfortable with the way I am lifting her then shouldnt it be ok?

Can both guys and girls give me any pointers possible please

~CHRIS~

6 Replies to MY first time

re: MY first time
By BalletdogPremium member
On Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:36 PM
There is so much I could say here, I don't know where to start. I too am a guy, who was basically shut out by both the teacher and by the females of the first pas de deux class I attended. I felt it was shameful, that the teacher didn't take the responsibility to either tell me to not be in the class, or to have me in the class and then see to it that I had partners. Non-responsible teachers should not be teaching, plain and simple. I've since become very good at pas de deux, and it was only through a different teacher who took the time and effort to teach me, including giving me a number of private lessons, that I became competent.