Forum: Folk / Flamenco

Flamenco
Excited Flamenco Newbie :-)
By dforeman Comments: 98, member since Tue Mar 23, 2010
On Mon May 03, 2010 03:35 PM

I took my very first Flamenco class last week, during San Francisco's National Dance Week, and I have to say, "I loved it!" I was super excited and nervous when I got to the studio...and even a little more so when the instructor (Danica Sena) introduced herself...but the class was absolutely amazing.

We barely spent anytime learning basic movements (palmas, zapateados, and hand/arm movements) and pretty much got into choreography immediately. I had some (hm) "issues" to begin with, just remembering the rhythm of palmas, which was slightly embarrassing, but almost the entire class was new to Flamenco. By the end though, we were dancing, smiling, and having a grand old time practicing!

Since my background is in your typical trifecta (ballet, tap, and jazz) I was completely enamored by the sound, movement, and style of Flamenco! I can't wait to go again on Wednesday night...just wanted to share my experience and joy! :)

4 Replies to Excited Flamenco Newbie :-)

re: Excited Flamenco Newbie :-)
By nevroth Comments: 1238, member since Fri Nov 21, 2003
On Fri May 07, 2010 12:53 AM
Welcome to the fabulous world of flamenco! I danced only ballet and modern before trying out flamenco. It looked so beautiful! I've been dancing for about 4 years and am in a professional company and it's wonderful! The best thing about folk dance is that it doesn't matter what your size is or your age- it's all about hard work, technique and passion.

I would ask you what palo (rhythm) you learned, but as a newbie I'm sure you were just trying to figure out what was going on! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and hope you continue to take classes. There are usually opportunities to dance at showcases, festivals, even events (when your more inter/adv) with your teacher, and it's SO MUCH FUN to dress up in costume.