Forum: Advice / Pilates/Yoga

Pilates and back pain
By Tyterope
On Tue Jun 08, 2010 06:05 PM

Hi... I am very new to Pilates... I started doing it 3 weeks ago using Anna Caban's video... While at first it seemed fantastic... I now have low back pain after every session and the following day... So much so that it has caused me to rethink doing Pilates completely... I believe I'm doing the exercises correctly, i.e., keeping my back completely flat against the mat, pulling my navel to my spine, putting my chin on my chest, breathing on cue as best as I can,(although sometimes I find myself holding my breath because I'm neither inhaling nor exhaling) lifting out of my hips, etc.
I also Googled "back pain/pilates" and this turned back a surprising number of articles from doctors stating that Pilates can have detrimental consequences on the low back because strenghtening the "deep core" muscles, in fact, does not protect the back as previously thought. The articles continued to say, that while exercisers end up with "6 pack" core muscles, their backs are ruined... And that the navel to spine movement is not beneficial at all.

This is all food for thought for me as I'm trying to develop a beneficial workout that will help me get back in shape for ballet. I know core strength is crucial, and I actually want to do Pilates, but I feel like I'm hurting rather than helping myself.
Any insight and/or knowledge you can provide would be greatly appreciated! Thank you for reading my long post. T.

5 Replies to Pilates and back pain

re: Pilates and back pain
By GetRhythmmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Wed Jun 09, 2010 09:43 AM
Edited by snot85 (133910) on 2010-06-09 09:47:45