Popular Irish

premium crystal Rhinestones by numberonemum
These are high quality genuine premium crystals,they are a superb alternative to Swarovski at very...

Forum: Ask a Teacher

Ask a Teacher
Teaching proper turn-out to little kids en>fr fr>en
By seannettaPremium member Comments: 2132, member since Fri Jul 28, 2006
On Sun Jun 13, 2010 09:05 AM

I'll be designing and teaching my own Irish dance classes in the fall. I have plenty of experience teaching older dancers (teens and up), and I also have experience teaching already-established classes of kids. But I've never designed my own class for kids, and it's got me thinking about how to teach them proper technique in most easily-grasped way.

In Irish dance, a lot of teachers get kids to display turnout by saying "make a V with your feet" or by putting stickers on the insides of their heels and getting the kids to show off their stickers. But I'm not completely comfortable with this, because it's teaching them that turnout is about the feet, when of course it's really about the whole leg.

To adults, I can easily explain how turnout comes from the hip. But to a 5-year old? How do you teachers start introducing such concepts, and do you have any tips and tricks to share?

7 Replies to Teaching proper turn-out to little kids

re: Teaching proper turn-out to little kids en>fr fr>en
By OkinawaDancing Comments: 650, member since Fri Jun 11, 2010
On Sun Jun 13, 2010 09:14 AM
I don't really care for that sticker theory/idea for the same reason that you mentioned. It also sets the kids up for turning out from the knee which is SOOOOO hard to reverse.