Popular Teachers

Acro Duet (Ages 9 and 12) by KateC13
I have a duet to choreograph for two sisters. One is 9 and one is 12. They want an upbeat acro...

Forum: Ask a Studio Owner

Ask a Studio Owner
Price for Zumba instructors? en>fr fr>en
By adancer5551 Comments: 260, member since Sun Mar 07, 2010
On Fri Jun 25, 2010 03:17 PM

Hello,
I have a Zumba instructor at my studio who currently gets paid $50 for an hr class. He wants an increase in pay every time more students sign up. I said I would do $60 if we get 7 students but he wants to keep going up. In my opinion thats a ton of money for an hour. If it helps he is 25 and only started teaching Zumba a few months ago. Can you guys share your opinions on this. My first reaction was hes crazy I was never given an increase in pay when more students joined my classes before I opened my own studio. Let me know what you think. Thanks!

17 Replies to Price for Zumba instructors?

re: Price for Zumba instructors? en>fr fr>en
By cmdc Comments: 3084, member since Sat Jun 02, 2007
On Fri Jun 25, 2010 03:22 PM
I feel like fitness instructors (zumba) are paid a little different that dance teachers. Most of us don't get an increase in our pay regardless of how good we are an how many students we bring in. I know of gyms who do pay off of how many people you bring in though. I see both sides.

I feel like there should be a cap at some point. However, if this person is truly golden and is bringing a ton of people into your studio and they are staying...pay it! I know I would have loved that!
By Tapndance Comments: 1636, member since Tue Jun 12, 2007
On Fri Jun 25, 2010 04:04 PM
Is he paying for the advertising or referring people? I dont see why new walk in's would give him a raise otherwise, unless he has GREAT retention then I would consider a raise now and then but not per head.
By madance Comments: 990, member since Tue Feb 27, 2007
On Fri Jun 25, 2010 04:16 PM