Forum: Irish / Irish - Achievements

I know it's not much, but...
By Damhnaitmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sun Jul 18, 2010 03:59 PM

I placed for the first time yesterday in Prizewinner. I've been dancing in Prizewinner for about two years now and every time I competed, I would come close to placing (1 point away here, .5 points away there, etc.), but I was really afraid because I always psyched myself out by thinking "Some of these girls compete in Prelims already. This is probably the last dance they need to get out of Prizewinner" and stuff along those lines.

However, at the feis yesterday it was my 18th birthday and I was down because I hadn't placed in my hornpipe (it's the last dance I need to get out of novice) and next up was my reel so I thought "I don't care, I just wanna FLY out there!" and I pumped myself up and ended up placing 5th out of 18 dancers. So I'm just so proud right now, and I'm not thinking of 5th place as a low placement, but as a foot in the door for better Prizewinner placements! Ha ha, thanks for reading; I'm just so excited!

12 Replies to I know it's not much, but...

re: I know it's not much, but...
By ReelJigmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sun Jul 18, 2010 04:50 PM
CONGRATS!!!! thats great!!! 5th is really good especially since there was 18 dancers in your competition! :D

-reeljig <3
By Eire_gir
On Sun Jul 18, 2010 04:52 PM
Congratulations! Your hard work seems to be paying off. All the best at your next competition.
By Finnegan
On Sun Jul 18, 2010 05:15 PM
Awesome! A great result. Go you!
By jiggymommamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sun Jul 18, 2010 09:24 PM
Great job! Congratulations! :)
By RAID_Babemember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sun Jul 18, 2010 09:26 PM
5th out of 18 dancers if fantastic! Congrats to you. So does this mean you're in the next level above Prizewinner?