Forum: Ballet / Ballet Photos - Misc

Page:
Page 1 of 2: 1 2
Natalie Portman in The Black Swan
By Bibi_
On Sun Jul 25, 2010 01:05 PM

I came across these pictures on Yahoo. I think it's cool that Natalie Portman will be playing a ballerina. Now I don't know too much about Ballet because I'm just an adult beginner and have only been doing it for a few months, but is her posture correct in this pose? They stress posture so much in my class and it looks to me that she's got major swayback in this pic. What do you more experienced dancers think? Are there any positions or steps where it's ok for your back to sway in ballet? I threw in the other pic in because I think the makeup is pretty neat.

28 Replies to Natalie Portman in The Black Swan

re: Natalie Portman in The Black Swan
By AlwaysOnStagePremium member
On Sun Jul 25, 2010 01:13 PM
For 'poses' it kind of depends, because choreography especially in poses (shapes) can override technique. I think this pose could be legit...on a standpoint that she's not swaying her back, she's keeping her torso vertical (as the shape warrants) with her open hips for the wide position.

I don't trust non-dancers to play dancers (does Natalie dance? It doesn't seem like it with that back leg turned in...) so I probably won't be seeing it.
By Angelinamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sun Jul 25, 2010 01:54 PM
^ I don't think she's a dancer. Something about that pose looks a bit off to me... I don't know why though.

I love thrillers though, so might try to see this film. Plus, I think Natalie Portman is so beautiful...
By mazie
On Sun Jul 25, 2010 02:12 PM
I think it's hard to tell what she's meant to be doing because you can't see her feet or any of wider picture really. A sway back is sometimes acceptable for poses, even though it's not proper technique as such.