Feature: Ballet / Ballet - General

Get The Pointe #39: Meet DanceOfTheHeart
By AlwaysOnStagePremium member
On Sat Sep 11, 2010 07:52 PM
Edited by webheadmaster (251) on 2010-09-11 21:00:59 Make feature

Image hotlink - 'http://i731.photobucket.com/albums/ww320/alwaysonstage/DanceOfTheHeart/IMG_1884.jpg'

DDN Name: DanceoftheHeart
Years Dancing: 15

Image hotlink - 'http://i731.photobucket.com/albums/ww320/alwaysonstage/DanceOfTheHeart/IMG_1882.jpg'

The Basics

What age did you begin dancing, and what what the first style of dance you studied?
I started when I was 5 at my cousin’s dance studio. We did a lot but the classes that I remember the most were ballet and tap

Why did you continue your training as a dancer from that beginning?
I had been doing it for so long I just didn’t want to stop, I loved the excitement.

What are the styles of dance have you studied, and what do you study now?
I studied ballet and Graham at Purchase College. I took lots of different classes at Summer Intesives like a swing class, flamenco and Horton.

Why study more than one style? What do you like about each style?
I’ve always loved ballet but I think that other styles can express the same thing in a different way which is beautiful.

Do you prefer classical ballet or modern choreography?
Classical. But you can’t write off modern, it’s constantly evolving which is wonderful.

If someone asked you, "Why Dance?" what would your answer be?
Because I need to move

Why is ballet an important part of your life?
I honestly don’t quite know the answer to that. I’ve been doing it for so long and I have tried other sports but I have always come back to dance.

Why do you love to dance?
Who doesn’t love feeling beautiful?

Image hotlink - 'http://i731.photobucket.com/albums/ww320/alwaysonstage/DanceOfTheHeart/MattHollerphoto3.jpg'

Did your parents make you start dancing? Was your mom a dancer, and did she push you to go further and do better?