Forum: Ballet / Pas De Deux

help with a new lift
By hpballerina12
On Mon Oct 11, 2010 05:49 PM

Hi everyone!

I am Clara for Nutcracker this year, and I have to do a pas de deux with my prince. I'm new to partnering, so it's been quite the challenge, but everything is going smoothly except for this one lift.

I don't know the name of it, so I'm going to try to describe it. Basically, the prince and I run from the upstage right corner, and then I turn sharply to stage left so I'm facing the corner we just ran from, and I do an assemble closing my right foot in front.By that time, the prince has reached me and his hands are on my hips and my hands are on his shoulders, and he's in a deep plie. From there, as soon as I finish the assemble, I do a saute but bring my back leg (so my left leg) into a coup de pied derriere, and the prince lifts me up and straightens his knees as I push off his shoulders.

We are having problems getting the height the director wants. I feel like I'm not able to push off of his shoulders at all, which doesn't allow for a lot of height, ends the lift early and results in a clumsy landing.

Any advice as to how to do this lift? The director really wants it in there and so I really need any advice to make this lift happen.

Thank you!

5 Replies to help with a new lift

re: help with a new lift
By tempsleve
On Mon Oct 11, 2010 05:54 PM
Well, pas de deux is all about partnering - you need to work with your partner. Let your partner know about your concerns, and perhaps you can practice together, and find out what work and what doesn't. Perhaps its the timing, as well?
By hpballerina12
On Mon Oct 11, 2010 09:50 PM
Thank you for your response.