Forum: Irish / Irish - Beginners

How to get started ( if thats the word) ?
By dancebabe34
On Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:41 PM

So I just started ID about three months ago. Its pretty fun, and ive learned alot.

But, I really want to get all my basic stuff down so I can try to go to a feis next year.

SO my questions are, how does everyone stay motivated? How to you schedule yourself so you have time to practice? Whatdo you do when you get frustrated?

7 Replies to How to get started ( if thats the word) ?

re: How to get started ( if thats the word) ? (karma: 1)
By RAID_Babemember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sat Nov 06, 2010 03:32 PM
Edited by RAID_Babe (220382) on 2010-11-06 15:40:03
How do you stay motivated?
I've had a lot of trouble keeping motivated and I've been dancing for 10 years. What I usually find helps, is if I turn up my favourite Reel, or Jig and play it full-blast. Then I try to make steps to go with it. Another technique I use, to keep motivated, is writing down how long you practiced for and then keep aiming higher. Add what you practice and whether you drilled it or not. This usually gives more incentive to work harder the next time, therefore you stay motivated. Finally, my favourite way to stay motivated is to find a few good videos on YouTube and watch them. The best one which I've come across would be this: www.youtube.com . . . and just watch the troupe dancers mostly.

How do you make time to practice?