Forum: Ballet / Pas De Deux

close contact with partnering
By balletforlife31
On Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:28 AM

Hi, so im new to this blog and have a question about pas de deux, male-female relation. Do partners every, acciddently or purposly, touch each other in the well, you know, "sensative areas"? Im freaking out...

7 Replies to close contact with partnering

re: close contact with partnering
By rincedragonflymember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Nov 15, 2010 01:02 AM
It totally happens. All the time. And it's okay. We always have this chat at the beginning of a new session...accidental grabbing happens. You say sorry, you move on. Yes, it's awkward, but it happens.

Really, I would rather a hand end up somewhere awkward than my partner drop me on the floor.
By finding_jaymember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Mon Nov 15, 2010 06:49 AM
Edited by finding_jay (203413) on 2010-11-15 06:50:47 Broken HTML
Edited by finding_jay (203413) on 2010-11-15 06:51:07
It can happen. Learning pas de deux can be tricky at first, because it involves a lot of new steps, and also involves being able to trust one another.

If you're both learning something knew, one or both of you may not be entirely sure of where to put your hands (and other parts of your body). Your (or your partner) may be so involved of making sure their body is positioned correctly, they may not be fully aware of where their hands are.

If you think your partner has their hands in the wrong place and hasn't realised it, gently suggest that they move their hands somewhere else (ie, 'I think your hand should be more on my hip', 'Could you try supporting my leg?'), and maybe even guide their hand into the right place. They may realise their mistake, and depending on how embarrassed/shy they are, may apologise or quietly blush and turn away.