Popular Teachers

Recital Music HELP! Age 8 Jazz Class by KLynnR1103
I need any help with recommendations on a fun upbeat jazz song to use for recital! It is a jazz...

Forum: Twirling / Twirling

Twirling
Majorette try outs for Middle School and High School en>fr fr>en
By Majorettecoach09 Comments: 28, member since Sat Jan 08, 2011
On Sat Jan 08, 2011 08:51 AM

I could really use any advice that anyone has. This is my first year of holding try outs. I need to know mostly what things to judge on and what should be worth the most. Also how do you handle telling a girl she hasn't made the squad. How should my try outs be different for my middle school majorettes and for my high school. Should I make everyone do solos or just the ones trying out for captain and feature twirler. Thanks.

8 Replies to Majorette try outs for Middle School and High School

re: Majorette try outs for Middle School and High School en>fr fr>en
By buckeye2 Comments: 3669, member since Sat Jan 01, 2005
On Sat Jan 08, 2011 08:28 PM
When I did try-outs, we held a clinic for a few days prior to the actual try out. The girls had a list of twirls and tricks they had to be able to do and also learned a short routine to perform for the judges. It helped to see how quickly (or slowly) they pick up choreography and how well they perform with material they just learned. And it also gave you an idea of how well the girls perform together. This is important when picking a squad.
By kmgmom Comments: 139, member since Tue Apr 17, 2007
On Sun Jan 09, 2011 07:39 PM