Forum: Arts / Debates

Page:
Page 1 of 2: 1 2
The shopping culture
By Sumayah
On Mon Jul 04, 2011 08:28 AM

Okay so today is America's National Independence Day, the 4th of July, and I work in retail. As such I am going in to work today just like any other day. I made this complaining post on my Facebook this morning:

Dear Consumerism and Greed,

Without you I might actually get the day off. And I know closing an hour early is quite the concession on your part, but it's not quite good enough.

No love,
Sumayah

And it got me thinking about the shopping/privilege culture that has developed. As I work in the mall, our store is bound by the by-laws of the mall - we signed a contract and have to be open in accordance with mall hours. At what point did National Holiday = Shopping and Sales? If you are privileged enough to work a "normal" job and you get the day off to spend with your family and friends, what gives you the right to force other people to work so you can shop?

I realize that the economy also factors in to this scenario, that these national holiday spark big promotional sales and that drives revenue and profit, but at what cost? I know companies like Chick-Fil-A are closed on Sunday's and Christmas/Thanksgiving to give the workers time to be with their family. Is it really such an inconvenience that we can't get a chicken sandwich on Sunday? Should other business start to follow a similar practice where a day is set aside to be closed to allow workers a chance to be with family and friends?

Maybe I'm just grumpy that I'm the one who has to work, (and no time and half) but it seems that consumerism is getting out of hand. Thoughts?

39 Replies to The shopping culture

re: The shopping culture
By reel_faerie85member has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Jul 04, 2011 08:34 AM