Forum: Arts / Crafts & Hobbies

my living wall experiment (karma: 1)
By panicmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Fri Jul 15, 2011 03:23 PM
Edited by panic (116436) on 2011-07-15 15:25:46 I added stuff. Duh.

This is my first try at making a living wall. I just used materials and plants I had lying around, so I'm sure some of the plants will need to be replaced. And I decided to use sponges instead of dirt - which may or may not work. Has anyone else tried something like this? I actually looked around to see if I could buy something similar, but the prices were OUTRAGEOUS!

edit: Obvi, it's not finished yet. I didn't think I had to mention that, but one never knows, does one?

14 Replies to my living wall experiment

re: my living wall experiment
By ChristinePremium member
On Sat Jul 16, 2011 07:25 PM
I've used Sphagnum moss for baskets and the roots of the plants do grow into the moss fibers, so I suppose the sponges will work the same way. Depending on the plants though, it may be a limited medium. You still need the nutrients from the soil. I don't know the nutritional value of natural sponges, but given the cost, I assume you are using cellulose? I would assume that a good plant food, properly diluted, should help.

What kind of light source do you have? The availability of sunlight may be more significant to the plants than soil.

The pictures look great. Do you have access to any Bromeliad Tillandsia or similar "air plants"? Spanish Moss might be an easy addition as well, if you have enough humidity (which I assume is no problem in FL)

Please keep up updated on your wall. It is really STUNNING!

Keep On Dancing*
By hummingbird
On Sat Jul 16, 2011 09:00 PM
Sphagnum moss is not ecological choice because of the length of time it takes to grow and the way it's harvested.

I thought that the sponges were mosaic tiles to start off with :)

I'm off to get my eyes tested having looked closer.