Popular Teachers

Help guide those special dancers toward a professional career with this essential guide. by adamdance25
Finding success as a professional dancer requires so much more than great technique and performance...

Forum: Adults / Work/Employment

Work/Employment
Taking on extra work? (Emergency--24 hours) en>fr fr>en
By Cienmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 6043, member since Tue Dec 20, 2005
On Sun Jul 17, 2011 01:37 PM

For the past 2 years, I've been an Assistant Teacher at a ballet studio for little kids, and I LOVE it. I also started working at Old Navy a year ago, which is nice for the summer when the studio doesn't have as many classes for me to assist.

This fall, I was set up to assist 3 classes on Thursdays, 2 classes on Fridays, and then I'd planned on giving 1 or 2 Saturdays a month to Old Navy. I had roughly the same schedule last fall, and it worked out just fine. But an hour ago, my boss at the studio emailed me and said she's in desperate need of a teacher for Saturday mornings, as well as a hostess for the birthday parties we offer.

Pros:
-BIG increase in pay, since I'd be a Teacher. Like, almost double what I make as an Assistant.
-I love this job so so much. I'd rather have more hours here than more hours at Old Navy.

Cons:
-Possibly burning myself out. I'd have to wake up at 7 AM every Saturday through December to teach, and if there were a birthday party scheduled directly after my classes, I'd be working almost straight through from 9 AM-4 PM.

The only thing I'm nervous about is the stress, because I could see myself getting worn out by those hours. But I'm wondering if it's something I could adjust to, or if I'm just plain underestimating myself. And is it not worth worrying about that if I'm getting paid much more to do a job I really love? I also really don't want to let my boss down here, and I know she would think a lot more highly of me if I took these classes on.