Forum: Welcome

New Teacher
By noachkamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:02 AM

Hello,

I've been a DDN member for quite a while but this is my first time posting on the teacher's only board! I just recently got a job teaching and I am so excited about it! I will be teaching two classes -- a Pre-Ballet class ages 6-8, and a Fairytale Ballet class ages 3-4.

I am working on forming my class plans and ideas on how to teach the kids and work with them while bringing a lot of fun into the studio, especially for the younger ones, so basically the first place I've come running to is good ol' DDN because I know I will find some good tips here ;)

7 Replies to New Teacher

re: New Teacher
By MissSharon73
On Wed Jul 20, 2011 01:28 PM
The best advice that I can offer you is to OVERPLAN!! But within that, be able to adapt and change those plans at a moment's notice :P LOL...Have variety and be animated so that they can feed off of your enthusiasm. If you are excited, they will be as well!!

Oh, and PROPS!! Lots of props if you can...
On Wed Jul 20, 2011 01:37 PM
Thanks!! I've been reading around and so far it seems that your suggestion of props is a very popular one indeed! At least for the 3-4 class.

The 3-4 class is like creative movement with a strong ballet focus. Mostly just developing skills, I guess. The 6-8 class is pre-ballet so I think the focus will be entirely ballet but very very simplified, to get them to understand concepts they will need once they advance to ballet 1. I am thinking of doing most exercises facing the barre. Of course it will have to be broken down so that the entire class is not barre exercises -- I think they are too young for a full class, hence the name "pre-ballet/"