Forum: Ballet / Advanced & Professional Ballet

Advanced & Professional Ballet
Any currently active professionals here?
By TwilightDancer95member has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 387, member since Thu Nov 06, 2008
On Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:01 PM

Is anyone currently in a professional company? There has not been much activity on this board as of late. I decided I'd try to help bring it back, it can be such a wonderful resource!
To start the thread, I am now an apprentice wig San Francisco Ballet! I started about a month ago, and I have my first performance in a week! :)

6 Replies to Any currently active professionals here?

re: Any currently active professionals here?
By Sumayah Comments: 6879, member since Wed Nov 12, 2008
On Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:13 PM
Not I. I was just reminiscing that it's been nearly 15 years since I was filling out the corps de ballet. Although one of my students looked fairly shocked tonight when I was telling them that I near made it out of the corps. She looked at me perplexed and said, "But you're so good!" At which point I laughed and explained that I was surrounded by really talented dancers, my dancing - especially now - is mediocre at best.

But one of my classmates was accepted (and didn't accept o.O) a full scholarship to study at the Royal Ballet School in London full time. /facepalm Another danced for Minnesota Ballet, another for City Ballet in San Diego. I'm not sure where others turned up, but I do know several others had pro careers. I danced with a small local company, but it was great.
By hummingbird Comments: 10419, member since Mon Apr 18, 2005
On Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 PM
Ex Coryphée here and that's as far as I got.

I know there are a few people as students at pro schools, I agree with you, this is an excellent recourse and I wish that I'd been able to access this forum when I danced.

What's your performance going to be TwilightDancer95?