Popular Irish

Irish social dance: 5 tips for keeping your dancing healthy by NoraStewart
Staying healthy takes more and more of my time, and it seems obvious to try to enhance the benefits...

Forum: Ballet / Pointe - General

Pointe - General
Average height/weight for a dancer en>fr fr>en
By SoulDancer17 Comments: 3, member since Sun Aug 21, 2011
On Sun Aug 21, 2011 04:57 PM
Edited by oz_helen (35388) on 2011-08-21 17:55:38 height/weight posts are not permitted

I have been dancing for 13 years. When I first started I was rather thin and in shape, but then I gained a significant amount of weight. I realized my weight was putting restrictions on what I could do so I started hitting the gym and eating right.

So what I'm wondering is , with me being 5'9 what should my weight be so that I have a dancers body?

7 Replies to Average height/weight for a dancer

re: Average height/weight for a dancer en>fr fr>en
By Coccinellamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 5880, member since Sat Jan 25, 2003
On Sun Aug 21, 2011 05:04 PM
Welcome to DDN. Height/weight ratio posts are not allowed as they can be really triggering to other dancers with eating disorders and body image issues.

That being said, there isn't really such a thing as a dancer's body. The weight you should be is something healthy for your height that can be easily maintained with regular exercise and mostly healthy eating. If you've been dancing for 13 years, I'm going to assume that a lot of those years were during teenager-hood, I'm not surprised you've gained weight. That's a part of growing and you have to accept being in a more adult body. I could be wrong about your age, though.
By SoulDancer17 Comments: 3, member since Sun Aug 21, 2011
On Sun Aug 21, 2011 05:09 PM
Edited by oz_helen (35388) on 2011-08-21 17:56:22 height/weight posts are not permitted